EDI IN THE AGRICULTURAL SECTOR

Recent Horsegate and "Spanish Cucumber" crises in 2013 and 2011 respectively remind us how traceability in the agricultural and agrifood sector is essential. Digital tools are key elements to be developped in the agricultural sector to ensure and secure the transparency of traceability data. Whether in crop production, animal production sectors or all along the agricultural supply chain, the Digital offers efficient and standardized exchange tools.

 

An observation: Information flows associated to IDs are no longer sufficient as unique tools for physical traceability. Today the Digital can accompany physical flows and comes to ensure the integrity of exchanged information. The agricultural sector is composed of a large number of distinct actors (farmers, cooperatives, accountants, suppliers, etc..) generating multiple data exchanges. The existence of a single information at all levels of the agricultural value chain is necessary, possible only through the use of standardized messages and components within standardisation bodies.

 

The Association Agro EDI Europe is committed since its inception in 1992, in the development of electronic data interchange (EDI) and digital in the agricultural sector by supporting :

- the evolution of different types of exchanges and standards adapted to the agricultural environment

- promotion and deployment of digital project for agriculutural communities

 

Moreover, the adoption of electronic exchanges is a real competitive lever for all business sectors. They allow to increase the responsiveness and the reliability of the entire value chain by forecasting needs (epidemiological surveillance network or statistical reports on crops). EDI allows safe traceability and quality management to meet the new requirements in this area (the traceability of seafood products and aquaculture is an example).

 

The digital offers also competitive advantages through a standardization of exchanges and a deployment of their uses for all levels of the supply chain for interoperability between actors. It is thus part of the constant will to a better productivity and a better competitiveness, especially in exports.

L'EDI dans le secteur agricole

Les récentes crises du Horsegate de 2013 et du « concombre espagnol » de 2011 nous rappellent à quel point la traçabilité dans le milieu agricole et agroalimentaire est essentielle. Dans un souci de transparence, le numérique a toute sa légitimité dans le secteur agricole. Que ce soit en productions végétales, en productions animales ou tout au long de la Supply Chain agricole, le numérique propose des outils d'échanges de données efficaces et normalisés.


Un constat : les identifiants accompagnant les flux ne suffisent plus comme outils uniques de la traçabilité physique. Seul le numérique, omniprésent, accompagne les flux physiques et vient garantir l'intégrité de l'information échangée. Le secteur agricole se compose d'un grand nombre d'acteurs distincts (agriculteurs, coopératives, centres de gestion, fournisseurs, etc.) engendrant des échanges multiples. L'existence d'une information unique à tous les niveaux de la chaîne de valeur agricole est donc nécessaire, unicité possible grâce à l'utilisation de messages normalisés au sein de l'UN/CEFACT (United Nations Centre For Trade Facilitation And Electronic Business).

 

L'association Agro EDI Europe est engagée, depuis sa création en 1992, dans le développement des échanges de données informatisés (EDI) dans le secteur agricole. Pour accompagner l'évolution des différents types d'échanges et les uniformiser, Agro EDI Europe assure la création de messages standardisés et normalisés propres à ceux du milieu agricole, en accord avec les standards internationaux existants.

 

Par ailleurs, l'adoption de modes d'échanges informatisés constitue un réel levier de compétitivité pour tous les secteurs d'activité. Ils permettent d'accroitre la réactivité et la fiabilité de toute la chaîne de valeur par une prévision des besoins (réseau d'épidémiosurveillance ou états statistiques des céréales). L'EDI permet une traçabilité et une gestion de la qualité permettant de répondre aux nouvelles exigences dans ce domaine (la traçabilité des produits de la mer et de l'aquaculture en est un exemple).

 

Le numérique offre également des avantages concurrentiels grâce à une standardisation des échanges et un déploiement de leurs utilisations à tous les niveaux de la Supply Chain pour une interopérabilité des acteurs. Il s'inscrit ainsi dans la volonté constante d'une meilleure productivité et d'une meilleure compétitivité, notamment dans les exportations.